April 8, 2010

persephone books, originally uploaded by chrice.

Most of you reading know me, and if you know me you probably know already about Persephone Books.

But if you don’t! Read on…

Persephone Books prints mainly neglected fiction and non-fiction by women, for women and about women. Their 86 books (so far) include novels, short stories, diaries and cookery books. (The most-purchased title is “Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day” by Winifred Watson, which was made into a movie with Frances McDormand and Amy Adams.)

Their main retail location is in the delightfully-named “Lamb’s Conduit Street” in London, England.

You can also visit them online at their website: Persephone Books.co.uk.

Enjoy today’s photo! If you like the photo, please drop a comment to the original photographer at Flickr.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 12:11:06

    I’ve been there one-and-a-half times!

    The first was intentional, when I was in London in 2004.

    Last summer my husband and I were in London, and we were meeting a friend for dinner on Lamb’s Conduit Street. I spent all day wondering why that street name sounded so familiar. Had I been there? It was near the British Museum, after all. E told me it was just because it is a very, very British-sounding street name.

    Then we walked by Persephone Books, and I shrieked and jumped up and down. (Alas, this time they were closed.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

